Networks in Capital Systems Modeler
Managing the
Network Signals in a Message Instance
After you have added a functional message to a design and mapped it to a network message, you can manage which network signals are included in that message instance.
Note
When you use the Manage Signals action on an instance of a design-wide message or shared message, the changes are applied to all instances of the object. The Manage Signals action is not available on frozen shared messages. See also “Freezing and Unfreezing Shared Objects” in the Capital Design Tools - Common Functions User Guide.
You can perform a bulk update action that associates or dissociates multiple functional signals and messages (in a functional design from Capital Systems Modeler) with network signals and messages (stored in the dictionary in Capital Signal Modeler) at the same time. This is an alternative to this mapping procedure. See Associating and Disassociating Functional Signals or Messages with Network Signals and Messages.
Prerequisites
- You must have mapped the functional message to a network message from Capital Signal Modeler. See Mapping a Functional Message to a Network Message.
Procedure
Right-click the message in the diagram window, or in the Design Browser (Design tab) at the bottom left of the application, and choose Manage Signals.The Manage Signals Dialog Box displays.
Select the signals that you want to include from the Active? column, unselect those you want to remove, and click Apply.Note When you map a functional message to a network message, all of the signals associated with the network message are included in the message instance. Therefore, you would typically use the Manage Signals action to remove signals from the message instance. You can change the included signals at any time throughout the life of the design.
Results
The Design Browser (Design tab) now lists only the signals that are included in this message instance. That is, those that you specified as active in this session.
If you unselected a signal so that it is not included in this instance, you can change it to active and include it at any time.
If you restart Capital Systems Modeler, the system refreshes network message definitions from Capital Signal Modeler. Any changes to the network signals in the network message persist to the Manage Signals dialog box: If you have added a new network signal to a network message definition, it is displayed as inactive (not selected) in the Manage Signals dialog box. You can select it to include it in the message instance.
If you have removed a network signal from the network message definition, it is displayed as gray in the Manage Signals dialog box. You cannot select it as active. When you click Apply, the system removes it from both the dialog box and the Design Browser.
Parent Topic:
Networks in Capital Systems Modeler
Capital Systems Modeler User Guide, 2512.2606
Unpublished work. © 2026 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202511026.capital_sm_user/id28cf080c-3202-41c6-9e66-d35c0c4c4291 · retrieved 2026-07-18