Diagrams > Common Edit Actions
Cutting and
Pasting an Object on a Diagram
You can cut and paste objects to a new location on the same diagram or another diagram of the same type.
Restrictions and Limitations
You cannot re-paste objects after undoing a paste, as the Undo action clears the data in the clipboard.
If you cut and paste an object on a diagram and undo the action, the pasted object is removed. You must repeat undo to restore the cut object.
If you cut and paste an object between different designs and undo the action, the pasted object is removed. The Undo action is independent between designs so you must repeat undo in the source design to restore the cut object.
If you cut an object and then make a change on the diagram, the data in the clipboard is cleared and you cannot paste the object. You must undo all actions to restore the cut object.
Procedure
- To cut a selected object:Right-click and select Cut.
Press Ctrl+X.
Press the space bar and enter Cut.
Select the Home > Copy-Cut > Cut ribbon action.
The object is displayed as ghost graphics and saved to the clipboard.
- To paste the object, hover over where you want to paste the object:Right-click the diagram and select Paste.
Press Ctrl+V.
Press the space bar and enter Paste.
Select the Home > Paste ribbon action.
The object is pasted and selected on the diagram at the cursor location, and any existing connectivity is preserved. Tip The data remains in the clipboard to paste multiple times as copies of the original data, if required.
Results
If you cut and paste conductors without selecting the end objects, or end objects without conductors, the wire or pin ends are disconnected.
If you cut and paste a shared object on a diagram, the shared objects are preserved. If you paste into a different design, the objects are created as non-shared objects and reported in the Output window.
If you cut a non-design-wide object, the object still exists as a connectivity object in the design. It is moved to an Unplaced folder for that object type in the Design Browser window. You can then place that object on a diagram again. However, when you next save the design, all Unplaced objects might be deleted from the design data depending on the “Purge unplaced objects on Save” setting in the General Project Preferences Applicable to all Applications.
Parent Topic:
Common Edit Actions
Capital Logic Designer User Guide, 2512
Unpublished work. © 2025 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202410078.capital_ld_user/id4e10b3ff-92be-46ab-8e94-2d46e7ea82fd · retrieved 2026-07-18