Projects and Designs > Shared Objects
Demoting an Instance of a Shared Object
You can demote an instance of a shared object so that the relationship between the instance and the shared object is removed but the diagram remains the same (including the connectivity). It is advisable, though not required, that you specify a new name for the demoted object as the shared object will still be available for use elsewhere.
Port reservations are not affected when you demote an object.
Procedure
Right-click on one instance of a shared object in the Design Browser Window or in the diagram and select Unshare from the popup menu. Alternatively, click the object, press Space Bar and enter Unshare.
The Name Local Function dialog box, Name Local Signal dialog box or Name Local Message dialog box is displayed. Specify a name (can be new or used already) for the demoted object. If valid names have been specified in Capital Project Manager, you can click the ellipsis (...) button to open the Name Selection dialog where you can select a valid name.After specifying a name, click the OK button. You cannot undo this action.
If you have specified a name that is already used, a message asks whether you want to use that name again or not. After you demote the object, the Design Browser Window is updated accordingly. Note If the project preference “Disallow port duplication within a design” is set, the Unshare menu option will not be available for selection where the unsharing of the object will create duplicate instances of ports. A tooltip message displays an explanation of this on hovering over the Unshare menu item.
Parent Topic:
Shared Objects
Capital Systems Modeler User Guide, 2512.2606
Unpublished work. © 2026 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202511026.capital_sm_user/id77152c53-ef0a-4491-b39f-6b6ce55ae892 · retrieved 2026-07-18