CapitalKnowledge

Devices

Uncombining Devices

You can uncombine a subset or all of the devices in a combined device (normal or ground).

Prerequisites

  • If you are working in multi-user mode, the slot containing the devices must be locked by you or be lockable.

  • If you want the action to automatically delete any wires that become obsolete, ensure that the “Automatically delete obsolete wiring after unplace or uncombine” project preference has been selected. See Project Preferences for Capital Systems Integrator Designs in the Capital Design Tools – Common Functions User Guide.

Note

For an example of uncombining devices, and the impact of the project preference, see Example of Uncombining Devices.

Procedure

  1. Decide which devices you want to uncombine. If you want to...

Do the following:

Uncombine all devices in a combined device

In the Design Browser (Design tab) at the bottom left of the application, select the combined device.

Uncombine a subset of devices from a combined device

In the Design Browser (Design tab) at the bottom left of the application, select the devices that you want to uncombine under the appropriate combined device. Note All selected devices must exist in the same combined device.

  1. Either:Right-click the selected combined device or selected devices and choose Uncombine Devices.

Select the Refine > Uncombine Devices action on the Automate ribbon tab. Figure 39: Uncombine Devices Ribbon Action

  1. If a selected device is variantly placed, an Uncombine Devices dialog box displays where you select the combined devices (listed by slot) from which you want to uncombine the variantly placed device.Select the appropriate combined devices and click OK.

Results

  • The system uncombines the selected devices and leaves them placed in the same slot, with the same variant placement expression (if any).

  • Devices remain mapped to the same connector and cavity. Caution You may need to remap the device to alternative cavities if you wish to run wiring synthesis.

  • If the “Automatically delete obsolete wiring after unplace or uncombine” project preference has been selected, the action deletes wires that are now obsolete and reports this in the Place tab in the Output Window at the bottom of the Capital Systems Integrator application. It deletes obsolete wires for all signals that are or were connected to the selected devices. Regardless of whether the project preference is selected, the action deletes obsolete wires which are connected to a device through a hole. In rare cases, where a master signal is split into child signals during the uncombine action, the action may delete splices regardless of the preference:

    The action does not delete a splice if it can be split so that it has a copy in each child signal.

    The action deletes splices that cannot be split and are associated with multiple child signals after a master signal is split.

Note If you have not selected this project preference, you can manually delete obsolete wires. See Deleting Obsolete Wiring for a Slot, Connector, or Signal.

  • The Change History tab in the Output Window also reports on any wires that have been modified or deleted.

Parent Topic:

Devices

Capital Systems Integrator User Guide, 2512.2606

Unpublished work. © 2026 Siemens

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202511026.capital_si_user/id64a7bc95-3a51-43c4-9aee-f01bdc56642b · retrieved 2026-07-18