CapitalKnowledge

Projects and Designs > Shared Objects > Shared Objects and Domains > Restrictions Based on Domain Access

Capital Project Manager

Restrictions

There are restrictions to the actions that are available in Capital Project Manager, if you have read-only or no domain access to the domains assigned to shared objects in a design or project.

Actions

on Shared Objects and Folders

Action Access
Create object Yes (only domains you have read-write domain access are available to assign to the object)
Report Usages Yes
Action Read-Only Domain Access No Domain Access
Edit No (opens dimmed dialog box) No (shared object is displayed () in the Project Browser Tree)
Properties No
Freeze / Unfreeze No
Create Revision Yes (revision will retain the same domain as the previous revision)
Delete No (dimmed)
Show Usages Yes
Report Usages Yes
Swap Out Revision Yes (swap only to revisions that have no domain, or to a read‑write domain you have domain access to)
Action Read-Only Domain Access No Domain Access
Freeze/Unfreeze Shared Objects No (shared object is hidden in the dialog box) No (shared object is hidden in the dialog box)
Delete Unused Shared Objects
Release Reservations No No
Report Usages Yes No

Note

If you have read-write domain access, you can access and filter the list of shared objects in the Project Browser Tree based on the assigned domains.

Actions

on Designs

Action Read-Only Domain Access No Domain Access
Edit Yes Yes
Freeze/Unfreeze Shared Objects No No
Create Revision Yes No
Create Evaluate Yes No
Copy Within Current Project Yes No
Copy Advanced (see also “Copying Designs From One Project to Another”) Yes No
Compare Yes No
Export Design Yes No
Assign ECO Yes No (dimmed)
Restore from backup No No
Delete No No

Actions

on Copy Advanced / Import Designs

For designs that contain shared objects with assigned domains that you do not have access to:

  • Source designs — Action will fail and a message is displayed.

  • Target designs — Overwrite of target design functionality is not available, and you must create a new design / revision.

For designs that contain shared objects with assigned domains that you have read-only access to:

  • You can create new shared objects but can only assign domains that you have read-write domain access to.

  • If you have read-only access to shared objects, you can revise the shared object but the source revision domain is retained.

  • The copy advanced / import action fails, if the result will modify data on a shared object that you have read-only access to.

  • Read-only objects can be mapped in source and target designs only when all the attributes and parameters, such as name, revision, and abstraction are the same, and do not modify the read-only shared object in the target design.

  • You cannot unfreeze read-only shared objects.

Design Abstraction Mapping Examples

If you have changed the default design abstraction mapping of shared objects:

  • The shared objects in the target design will be updated with the shared object domains in the source design, if you have read-write domain access to shared objects.

  • In any scenario that would modify shared objects which you have read-only domain access to, the action will fail.

  • If the source design domains are not available on the target project or database, the domains are removed from the shared objects.

Copy Advanced / Import Design Dialog Box Restrictions

The available options on shared objects with read-only domain access are restricted on the following tabs:

  • Shared Pin Lists Editing.

Disassociate for auto mapped read-only shared objects.

Disassociate All and Associate All, in the mapped lists of objects.

  • Shared Conductors Editing.

  • Shared Pin Association Defaults No options can change / impact read-only shared objects.

Note

If you have read-only domain access to some of the shared objects in a design, a message is displayed to warn you that a revision of the shared objects will be created.

Importing

Projects and Designs

If the domains on an imported project do not exist in the Capital database, the domains assigned on the incoming designs and any shared objects are removed.

When you import design data that includes shared objects with a domain assigned, the domain value is preserved on the migrated design data, if the same domain is assigned on your user account.

Restrictions

on Additional Actions

Action Read-Only Domain Access No Domain Access
Release Design No No
Export Design / Project (Current or Selected) / CED‑Export Yes No
Design Export FEM task Yes No
Manage Designs (revising using Manage Designs) Yes No
Pre‑Migrate Export Task Yes No
Migrate Import Task Yes No
Advanced Naming No (shared objects are bypassed) No

Note

The Release Design action is aborted in the following scenarios:

  • If you have read-write domain access to release designs, shared objects cannot be frozen as part of the releasing process.

  • If the design has shared objects for which you have no domain access, and the Unfreeze Shared Objects release behavior is selected for that release level.

  • If the read-only shared object cannot be frozen as part of the releasing process.

Action Read-Only Domain Access No Domain Access
Design Revision Yes No
Export Project Design Yes No
Import Design Yes (same behavior as defined for the Import Design actions) No
Batch Delete Designs No (designs cannot be deleted) No
Revise and associate multiple designs Yes No
Release Design / Release Multiple Designs No No
Bridge transfer and Import capital exchange Yes No

Parent Topic:

Restrictions Based on Domain Access

Capital Logic Designer User Guide, 2512

Unpublished work. © 2025 Siemens

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202410078.capital_ld_user/ida85e4583-d1e2-47a3-bf34-76a30e8f385a · retrieved 2026-07-18