Overview > Harness Concurrency
Relationships
between Locks and User Modes
When working with harness concurrency, there are two types of design lock: complete design lock in single user mode and weak design lock in multi user mode.
Complete
Design Lock in Single User Mode
If you edit a design in single user mode, you have a complete design lock that allows you to edit everything and prohibits other users from editing any object in that design. When editing a design, you cannot change to single user mode if another user is editing the design in multi user mode. If you have the Manage Design permission, when you open a design that is not being edited by another user, you are automatically in single user mode and therefore have a complete design lock. When you close the design in single user mode, the design lock is removed.
The following actions are available in single user mode only:
Edit design constraints
Edit skeleton
Edit diagram border
Edit physical scale
Edit design properties/attributes
Edit diagram properties/attributes
Add shapes/text/image/symbol
Logical design association
Modular Wiring Synthesis
Edit configurations
Edit associated plan
Batch naming
Edit prototype constraints
Edit take rates
Weak
Design Lock in Multi User Mode
If you edit a design in multi user mode, you have a weak lock on that design. This means other users can edit the design only in multi user mode too. In order to edit a slot or harness in that design, you must lock that object so that other users cannot edit it at the same time as you (see Locking a Harness or Slot when Running in Multi User Mode). When you close a design in multi user mode, your weak lock is removed. If you change from multi user mode to single user mode, any slot or harness locks are removed because you can then edit any objects without manually locking them.
When you are editing a diagram in multi user mode, you can dim (gray out) objects that are unlocked and objects that are locked by other users. This means that you only see objects that you have locked and can edit. See Dimming (graying out) Slots and Harnesses that are Locked by Other Users or that Are Unlocked.
After you have finished editing an object, you should unlock it so that other users can edit it if required (see Unlocking a Harness or Slot when Running in Multi User Mode).
If you create a new harness or slot in multi user mode, no other user sees the new object on their Concurrency Tab until you save it. When you save the object, you have a lock on it automatically.
When users are editing a Capital Systems Integrator design in multi user mode, they must all have the same view of the data in the associated Capital Logic Designer designs. This means that:
The Synchronize Logical Changes functionality is unavailable.
Opening a Capital Systems Integrator design in multi user mode is not allowed if any associated Capital Logic Designer design has changed.
Any associated Capital Logic Designer design cannot be opened for editing in the same session of Capital Platform Designer.
Parent Topic:
Harness Concurrency
Related Topics
Harness Concurrency
Concurrency Tab
Selecting Multi User or Single User Mode
Selecting which Lockable Objects to View on the Concurrency Tab
Locking a Harness or Slot when Running in Multi User Mode
Unlocking a Harness or Slot when Running in Multi User Mode
Dimming (graying out) Slots and Harnesses that are Locked by Other Users or that Are Unlocked
Refreshing Harness Information with Changes from Other Users
Capital Systems Integrator User Guide, 2512.2606
Unpublished work. © 2026 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202511026.capital_si_user/idcc48365e-e58d-4b3e-921e-06e2d8bf5f7a · retrieved 2026-07-18