CapitalKnowledge

Administering Domains, Roles and Users > User Accounts

Generating and Deleting Technical User Account Credentials

If you are using Capital X and want to access REST APIs, you must have a technical user account. This account includes the credentials necessary for logging into a REST API in non-interactive mode (that is, without using any user interface). Once the technical user account is created, you store the credentials securely on the machine that you use to access the REST API and Capital X.

Restrictions and Limitations

  • This applies to Capital X only, not to on-premises Capital.

  • You can generate and delete a technical user account only for yourself (that is your own user account). Even an administrator user cannot generate or delete a technical user account for another user.

Procedure

  1. Open the Capital Access Manager application and expand the User Accounts node in the browser tree.

  2. Follow the appropriate procedure for what you want to do.

                                     If you want to...
    
                                 
    
                                 
                                     Do the following:
    
                                 
    
                             
    
                         
    
                             
                                 
                                     Generate a technical user account
    
                                 
    
                                 
                                     
                                         
                                             Right-click your user account and
                                             choose Generate
                                             Technical User Account.
    
                                             Note 
                                             An error displays if you do not
                                             have the required permissions to create a
                                             technical user account, if you are not entitled to
                                             use any products, or if an unknown error
                                             occurs.
    
                                             If a technical user account
                                             already exists for you, a warning displays. You
                                             must choose whether to continue or cancel the
                                             action. Continuing the action deletes any previous
                                             technical user account for the selected user and
                                             generates a new one with a new Client Id and
                                             Client Secret.
    
                                             
    
                                             The action generates the new
                                             technical user account and displays the details in
                                             a Technical User Account Details dialog box.
    
                                             Note 
                                             You can copy the Client Id and the Client Secret so that you can
                                             store them securely outside of Capital X.
    
                                             
    
                                         
    
                                         
                                             Click Close to exit the dialog box.
    
                                         
    
                                     
                                 
    
                             
    
                             
                                 
                                     Delete the technical user account
    
                                 
    
                                 
                                     
                                         
                                             Right-click your user account and
                                             choose Delete Technical
                                             User Account.
    
                                             Note 
                                             An error displays if you do not
                                             have the required permissions to delete a
                                             technical user account, if a technical user is not
                                             found, or if an unknown error occurs.
    
                                             
    
                                         
    
                                         
                                             If a Technical User exists for
                                             the current user, a Delete Technical User Account
                                             message displays. You choose whether to continue
                                             with the deletion or cancel it.
    
                                             If you continue, a message
                                             confirms that the technical user account has been
                                             deleted.
    

Parent Topic:

User Accounts

Capital Access Manager User Guide, 2512.2606

Unpublished work. © 2026 Siemens

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202511026.capital_am_user/mcf1708515133540 · retrieved 2026-07-18