Projects and Designs > Shared Objects
Demoting an Instance of
a Shared Object
You can demote an instance of a shared object so that the relationship between the instance and the shared object is removed and the instance reverts to a non-shared object. The object’s connectivity is unaffected - it remains connected/mated to the same objects. It is recommended, though not required, that you specify a new name for the demoted object as the shared object will still exist.
The reservation statuses of the pins in the shared object definition of a shared device or connector are not affected when you demote an instance of the shared object. On the demoted instance of the shared object only the pins placed on the object instance when it was demoted will exist on the object. That is, the other pins in the shared object definition will not appear when you access the Place Pins Dialog Box [Non-Shared Objects] for the demoted instance.
Note
When you demonte an instance of a shared multicore or overbraid, all other instances of it in the current design also get demoted. If there is more than one instance of the shared multicore or overbraid in a design, the instances become a design-wide object. See Design-Wide Objects. Instances of the shared multicore or overbraid in other designs remain as instances of the shared object. When you demote a highway any shared conductors that interface with the highway remain shared.
If the “Disallow pin/port duplication within a design” project preference is selected the Unshare action will not be available for shared object instances where unsharing would create duplicate instances of pins. A tooltip message explaining this is displayed if you hover the cursor over the Unshare ribbon item when such a shared object instance is selected.
Video
- This video demonstrates how to share or unshare a device:
Procedure
- For instances of shared inlines:Select both the plug and the jack of the shared inline instance to demote in the Design Browser or diagram, and then press the space bar and enter Unshare or right‑click the inline and select Unshare.
For instances of other types of shared objects: Select the shared object instance in the Design Browser or diagram. Press the space bar and enter Unshare.
Right-click the shared object instance in the Design Browser or on the diagram and select Unshare.
The Name Local conductor dialog box is displayed.
Specify a name for the demoted object. You can keep the previously used name, enter a new name, or click the ellipsis button (...) and select from a list of pre-specified names maintained in the project’s Object Type Information in Capital Project Manager.
Click OK.
If you have specified a name that is already used, a message is displayed to choose whether to use that name again. Click Yes to continue and demote the object instance or click No to cancel.
Results
- The shared object instance is demoted and reverts to a non-shared object.
Parent Topic:
Shared Objects
Capital Logic Designer User Guide, 2512
Unpublished work. © 2025 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202410078.capital_ld_user/id1d753c5b-7fe8-444d-8c8f-1d8e359554b4 · retrieved 2026-07-18