Capital Cable Router
Locking Design Objects for
Editing
In a multi-user environment, you must lock design objects to edit objects and prohibit simultaneous interactions from other users that could cause data inconsistency or rework.
Locking ensures that only a single user at any given time can edit the fields of the following design objects:
Cables
Segments
Nodes
If a design object is locked for editing and other users attempt to request to lock the same object, a message is displayed to identify which user is editing the unavailable object.
If you log out or the session is timed out, any locked objects are automatically released for other users to edit. See “ccrsconfig.xml File Format” in the Install Guide for Capital Cable Router to specify the idletimeout parameter.
Restrictions and Limitations
- You cannot lock devices for editing because device attributes are not editable in Capital Cable Router.
Prerequisites
- Two or more Capital Cable Router users are routing cables in the same project.
Procedure
From the Search pane, select a cable, segment, or node to edit.The attributes of the design object are read-only in the Details Pane. See Searching Components and Objects in the Project to use the search criteria to find design objects that are locked or available to edit.
Click the Edit switch () to obtain the exclusive lock and edit the design object.A message is displayed to notify you that editing the object will lock the object to prevent changes by other users.
Click Proceed to edit the object or Cancel.The editable attributes are available in the Details Pane, and the Unlock switch () is activated to identify that the object is locked. Note If other users attempt to edit the same object, a message is displayed to alert that the object is unavailable because you have locked the object for editing. If you select a different object or switch to a different project or workflow, a Switch Focus message is displayed to prompt you to Unlock the object for other users to edit or Keep the lock for editing.
Configure the attributes as required.The Save and Discard buttons are activated. Note If you Switch Focus, a message prompts you to Save or Discard the changes and automatically retain or unlock the object.
Click Save, or Discard to revert to the previous values.
Click the Unlock switch ().
Results
The locked object is released for other users to modify.
Parent Topic:
Capital Cable Router
Capital Cable Router User Guide, 2512.2602
Unpublished work. © 2026 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202510069.capital_cr_user/iddf602ac5-6556-4bee-a254-a2fb69d8a870 · retrieved 2026-07-18