Projects and Designs > Shared Objects
Freeze and Unfreeze
Shared Objects
After a design has been released, if the release level has the Design Changes release level behavior the design revision will not be read-only and it will be possible to make changes to the design, including editing the shared object definition of unfrozen shared objects that have instances placed on the design. Making these changes can affect the underlying connectivity and design intent. To prevent changes to such shared objects, you can freeze them.
When a shared object is frozen you cannot edit its shared object definition (its pins, pin reservations, associated symbols and associated Capital Analysis models) in Capital Logic Designer (though in Capital Project Manager you can still change the Pin Reservation Status of the shared object’s pins), you cannot edit its library part association and you cannot edit the properties or attributes of it, or of its pins. However, you can still add new instances of the shared object to diagrams, change the appearance of instances of the shared object on diagrams, place pins that exist in the shared object definition onto instances of the shared object and remove pins from instances of the shared object.
Note
If a design revision has been set to a release level that does not have the Design Changes release level behavior, you cannot make any changes to the design revision. If the currently-open diagram is in such a design revision you cannot edit the shared object definition of any shared objects (no matter whether they are frozen or unfrozen). However, if you open a diagram that is in a design revision that has a release level that does allow design changes you can edit the shared object definitions of unfrozen shared objects, including the shared object definitions of unfrozen shared objects that have instances placed on designs that have a release level that does not allow design changes. See “Release Level Behaviors” in the Capital Project Manager User Guide.
To make changes to the shared object definition, library part association, properties or attributes, or those of its pins, of a frozen shared object in Capital Logic Designer, you must unfreeze it or create a new revision and swap out (replace) the old revision with the new revision in the designs that you want to make changes to.
Note
You can only unfreeze a frozen shared object if your user account has the Unfreeze Shared Objects permission. See “Permissions” in the Capital Access Manager User Guide.
If your user account has the Frozen Shared Object Pin Attributes/Properties permission, you can edit the attributes/properties of frozen shared object pins that have not been placed on a design that is set to a release level that does not allow design changes (that is, does not have the Design Changes release level behavior). See “Permissions” in the Capital Access Manager User Guide and “Release Level Behaviors” in the Capital Project Manager User Guide. The Stud attribute of a pin cannot be edited for pins that have been placed on a design that is open elsewhere. See Stud Pins.
If you release a design using the Release Designs Dialog Box to a release level that has the Frozen Shared Objects release level behavior, the shared objects in the design revision get frozen automatically and you cannot swap out shared object revisions on the design revision. You must change the release level to a level that does not have the Frozen Shared Objects behavior to be able to swap out shared object revisions on such design revisions. Alternatively, you can unfreeze the frozen shared objects.
You cannot add an instance of an unfrozen shared object to a design that is released to a release level that has the Frozen Shared Objects release level behavior. However, if you freeze an unfrozen shared object you will be able to add instances of it to such as design. If you promote an object to a shared object in such a design, a message is displayed to continue and freeze the new shared object or cancel the promotion.
Frozen shared objects are indicated by a blue snowflake on their icons in the Shared Objects Browser, Design Browser, and Groups Browser.
If you change the release level of a design revision to a release level that has the Frozen Shared Objects release level behavior in the Edit Design Dialog Box and click OK, the Freeze Shared Objects dialog box is displayed. Click OK to freeze the shared objects in the design revision and change the release level, or click Cancel to exit without changing the release level. See also “Bulk Unfreeze Shared Objects Based on a Release Level Change” in the Capital Design Tools - Common Functions User Guide.
Parent Topic:
Shared Objects
Capital Logic Designer User Guide, 2512
Unpublished work. © 2025 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202410078.capital_ld_user/idab4339c4-6965-4e69-8217-1a6c7448abaf · retrieved 2026-07-18