Projects and Designs > Shared Objects
Creating a New Revision
of a Shared Object
When a design is released to a release level that has the Frozen Shared Objects release level behavior, shared objects in the design revision are automatically frozen. To modify one of the frozen shared objects, you can create a new revision of it which you can then edit.
See “Release Level Behaviors” in the Capital Project Manager User Guide.
Tip
If your user account has the Unfreeze Shared Objects permission you can unfreeze a frozen shared object rather than creating a new revision. See “Permissions” in the Capital Access Manager User Guide.
You can also create new revisions of shared objects in Capital Project Manager. See “Creating a Shared Object Revision” in the Capital Project Manager User Guide.
Restrictions and Limitations
Shared devices and shared connectors retain their own separate revision schedules even when they are mated to each other. To create a new revision of a shared device and a shared harness connector that is mated to it, you must create new revisions of both the device and connector separately.
The Create Revision action may be unavailable because of a domain restriction on associated shared object definitions or library parts. If you require access to this action on an object, contact your system administrator. See also “Domains” in the Capital Access Manager User Guide for access restrictions because of Domain settings.
Procedure
- To open the Create Revision Dialog Box:Select the shared object in the Shared Objects Browser. Press Space Bar and enter Create Revision or click the Create Revision button () in the Shared Objects Browser toolbar.
Right-click the shared object in the Shared Objects Browser and select Create Revision.
Enter a unique name / revision combination. You can keep the previously used name, enter a new name, or click the ellipsis button (...) and select from a list of pre‑specified names maintained in the project’s Object Type Information in Capital Project Manager.The contents of the Name and Revision fields are displayed in red if the combination is not unique within the current project.
To swap out the original shared object revision for the new revision in designs, select Swap Out Revision.
Click OK.
Results
The new revision is listed under the original shared object revision in the Shared Objects Browser.
If you selected Swap Out Revision, the Swap Out Revision Dialog Box [2] is displayed to select the design revisions in which you want to swap out the shared object revisions. See Swapping Out Shared Objects for a Compatible Revision.
Parent Topic:
Shared Objects
Related Topics
- Swapping Out Shared Objects for a Compatible Revision
Capital Logic Designer User Guide, 2512
Unpublished work. © 2025 Siemens
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/861057055/202410078.capital_ld_user/idb5bf3e06-c04b-49f0-9511-255e5007bd1e · retrieved 2026-07-18